Procrastinate? Yes, Please.

I seem to be spending a lot of my time lately reading various articles online, which is good for my education and gets me thinking.  This one in particular caught my eye the other day.  What do you do when you’re procrastinating?  Off the top of my head, I read, tweet, Facebook, and work on mindless data-entry tasks while listening to music or audio books.  Additionally, if it’s something that I need to focus on, I can’t do it during the work day when there are people milling around, talking, and emailing me.  I have to do it at night or on the weekend if I want to be able to focus on it.  But that’s a separate topic.

What would our professional lives be like if high schoolers were required to think about this before deciding what they were going to do with their lives?  We would probably have a higher percentage of engaged employees, which would in turn make us more productive.  Realistically, not everyone could do what they want to do as a job (we’d have an extremely high concentration of video game testers, I think), but the workforce could always use more engaged employees.  If I had considered this before choosing my career, I would probably still end up doing something related, but perhaps more technology focused.

What would you have done?

One thought on “Procrastinate? Yes, Please.

Leave a Reply

