Book Review – The Doctor’s Lady

Reading has long been a love of mine and, fortunately for me, I’ve been able to do a lot more of it lately. So I thought I’d share my thoughts on a few of the books I’ve been reading. All comments represent my opinion alone.

I stumbled across The Doctor’s Lady by Jody Hedlund completely on accident while browsing the library’s selection of ebooks. It was featured on their website as a new acquisition. It looked good, so I put it on hold and was very surprised by it! For some odd reason, stories of arranged marriages and marriages of convenience have always fascinated me and this one was no exception.

The main characters, Priscilla White and Dr. Ernest, both seek to become missionaries but the Mission Board won’t support unmarried men or women. They enter into a marriage of convenience in order to travel to Oregon Territory to reach the Nez Perce Indian tribe. It’s a treacherous journey not completely by a white woman before. They encounter many dangers and learn lessons about themselves and each other.

I’ve never read Jody Hedlund’s books before and found it to be gripping. These characters really drew me in. They are both so flawed and yet willing to learn. Sometimes I wanted to hit one or both of them upside the head, but I’m sure there are times when God would like to do that to me too! (I’ve been watching too much NCIS…).

What was really interesting about this story came at the end of the book. In her endnotes, Jody Hedlund explains that the story is loosely based on missionaries Marcus and Narcissa Whitman. That really intrigued me and made the story so much more real. It’s absolutely a “what-if?” story.

This is definitely a piece of historical Christian fiction. After all, the characters are missionaries. While their faith isn’t the point of the book, it certainly plays a large part. There is also a good amount of chemistry between the two characters as well as some minor descriptions of illness and medical situations. After all, he is a doctor.

I would highly recommend this story – in fact, I’m going to see if I can find more of Jody Hedlund’s books to borrow!

Leave a Reply

