One Small Step

The Internet is addicting. You start off reading on article and – low and behold! – it links to another interesting article full of all kinds of interesting and sometimes useful information which links to another, and another, and another… at least, that’s how it works for me. Please tell me I’m not the only one?

I was recently browsing LearnVest’s website when I followed a link to another article, and another, and finally followed a link to an author’s blog. The blog intrigued me so I kept reading until I got to this article.

What great advice! It could apply to so many things, just like the author takes it. But, even if applied to only blogging, what a difference that could make. No rushing to get an article out once a week – you’ve been working on it all week! Plus, if you know you’re going to sit down and write something for 5-10 minutes every day, you’re much more likely to find inspiration in something. Maybe it’s mundane and you edit it out later – highly likely if you’re writing every day – but the writing development and improvement would be invaluable!

Even more important, how would we grow if we committed to spending at least ten minutes every day reading the Bible? Now, I realize that many people already do this. But for the rest of us, this could be a very important goal. Even spending ten minutes in prayer every day has impacted me. And when I get into the habit of doing something for at least ten minutes a day, slowly the time I spend lengthens until it’s considerably more. It also becomes a higher priority. I know that this would have a huge impact on my relationship with Jesus.

These will be my new goals: to write something – anything – for ten minutes a day. And to spend at least ten minutes reading the Bible every day. That’s just twenty minutes out of the day, something even very busy people can manage. What else could we apply this to? What could you do?

Leave a Reply

