Book Review – The Maid of Fairbourne Hall

It’s sometimes hard to find good ebooks available to borrow from the local library. The waiting list is usually long and so many of them aren’t books I would be interested in reading. Harlequin romances are not for me.

So I happy to find this book available to borrow immediately while browing through the library’s listings. I’ve read Julie Klassen’s The Lady of Milkweed Manor and while it wasn’t my favorite, it was a good read.

The Maid of Fairbourne Hall tells the story of Margaret Macy, a London lady who finds herself running from her home after overhearing her stepfather giving his nephew what is essentially permission to rape her. In an effort to support herself, she finds a place as a housemaid in the home of Nathaniel Upchurch, a suitor she once rejected. Eventually she returns home but not before realizing she may have made a mistake in her judgment of Nathaniel.

Margaret’s development in this story is superb. She starts off as a spoiled little chit – I have to admit, I did NOT like her at the beginning of the story! – but develops into someone very likeable and kind. Nathaniel’s character is also deep and his faith permeates his life. They are two very likeable characters.

The glimpses into 18th century servitude are very interesting. I don’t think I’ve read a historical romance with such a detailed look at how and why things were done. The author starts each chapter with a quotation from a different reference book, such as Below Stairs by Giles Waterfield, which speaks to something that happens in the chapter.

I was very sad to see this book end. My roommate made a comment that really resonated with me: “That’s the problem with ebooks. You don’t see the end coming.” And it’s so true. When you read a paper book, you know you only have a few pages left and you expect the ending. When I read an ebook, I don’t often check to see how many pages I have left. I was extremely disappointed to see this one end – I would have loved to know a little more about what happens next.

All in all, a very good read. Nathanial is a very God-fearing character and lives his life as such. The rest are certainly true to the period. I would highly recommend this book. Should you choose to read it, I would love to hear your thoughts!

Again, all opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

