Thank God for NaBloPoMo!

Can I be honest?

I completely forgot about NaBloPoMo.

NaNoWriMo? That I’m aware of. Last year I decided 2013 was the year. I’ve gotten all the preparatory emails, wanted to go to the pre-planning sessions, but deep down I knew I wasn’t going to be able to do it. As much as I want to, it wasn’t going to fit in with working three jobs especially during open enrollment, performance reviews, and holiday shopping. And I was deeply disappointed.

Until today, when I got an email reminding me about NaBloPoMo. All of sudden, there was hope again! I could do this! Sure, it’s not quite the same, but I could still participate. And next year, when I will be getting used to living in a new city and don’t have all the commitments I do now, NaNoWriMo will be my goal. I can just see myself sitting in the sun under a palm tree with my laptop working away on my novel… mental pictures like this get me though the rough days here in the freezing cold Midwest.

And we all know I’m not good at posting regularly. They say it takes 66 days to form a habit, and this is about half of that. Who knows what could happen? I’m excited to look for the inspiration for a daily post all around me. I know it’s there, I just haven’t been seeing it.

Life is about being flexible. So NaNoWriMo? 2014 is your year. 2013 belongs to NaBloPoMo.

Leave a Reply

