Fitness Challenge!

Fitness is important, yes? We all know this. For me, life seems so much better when I’m running or working out regularly. I like myself more. There are all kinds of benefits! And yet it’s so hard to get out there and do something about it.

Last winter, I worked on running. But it was a long, cold season and my treadmill was getting boring. Plus when you don’t get enough sleep, it’s hard to drag yourself out of bed at 4:30am to stare on the back of the garage door for 45 minutes.

In an effort to get my fitness back on track, I Googled fitness classes in my area and happened across the Bar Method. What I learned on the website and the blog intrigued me. I’ve always had a fascination with dance and a dancer’s body; here was a workout that promised to give me something similar! With a free introductory class, how could I go wrong?

Wow.

Fitness classes have scared me in the past. I would get part way through and wish I was anywhere else. I would dread going to class and justify not going. After my first two weeks of The Bar Method, I didn’t feel that way. The 60 minute class moves fast enough that it’s over before I know it. After my first class, I was sore but I couldn’t wait to go back. Two weeks later and I felt the difference in my energy levels. It may have been a figment of my imagination because it was probably too soon, but I thought I could see the toning in my arms.

But as I said earlier, it’s hard to sustain a regular workout schedule when you’re sleep deprived. So sadly, this summer my regular workouts faded away under a burden of work and sleeplessness.

It’s a vicious cycle with which we all struggle: you’re tired so you don’t work out so your body gets weaker and you feel more tired. But when you can just muster up the energy to start working out, you have more energy. And – bonus! – you eat better because your body craves better things.

Somehow, I have summoned the energy to workout again. This probably has something to do with the 50 or so days left until I leave on vacation in warmer climates, but whatever the reason I am grateful. I am also grateful to the wonderful people at my Bar Method studio for their great timing in offering a challenge: 20 classes in 30 days.

What do I have to lose? If I don’t make 20, I’ll still have motivated myself to go to however many classes I’ve made it to. And maybe I can make it to 20! It doesn’t seem like a very big deal, but it is to me. It’s a personal victory for sticking with and completing something.

So I’m going for it. 20 classes in 30 days starting today. Wish me luck!

Have you ever done a fitness challenge? How did it go?

Leave a Reply

