Lessons Learned from Daily Blogging

Today I’m borrowing yesterday’s prompt from BlogHer which reads: 

Tell us what you’ve learned so far about daily blogging.

Oh my goodness. It hasn’t even been a full week and already I have a fresh appreciation for people who do this regularly. All those blogs in my Feedly? You all have my full admiration and respect for what you do. Coming up with a new post every day is HARD, even with help from BlogHer and TheDailyPost.

And that’s just the post idea, not to mention the research that goes into it. Because things are researched, they aren’t just tapped out and posted in minutes.

Of course, planning ahead and scheduling posts in advance would help. The planner in me absolutely loves this idea. The thought of an editorial calendar has me drooling. One of the blogs I read regularly recently posted about her editorial calendar. Something like this would help me greatly, but I didn’t exactly make it easy on myself when I decided on November 1 that I was going to participate in NaBloPoMo. Life hasn’t exactly given me a chance this week to sit down and change that either.

Thank you to bloggers like Melisa for advice on how to make it through this month. Every post I read with suggestions is encouraging – I hope others out there find them as useful!

This challenge is just that: a challenge. It’s a test of commitment and creativity. It’s forcing me to think differently, to be more observant, to manage my time better, to plan ahead. I even have some ideas for a few photo posts, something I’ve never done before!

While I probably won’t continue posting every day after this challenge is complete, I’m hopeful that I will have gotten an editorial calendar together and stretched my creativity to where I’ll have things to say a few times a week. Can’t wait to see what else there is to learn in the next 21 days!

One thought on “Lessons Learned from Daily Blogging

  1. Pingback: What I’ve Learned from NaBloPoMo | vivace con brio

Leave a Reply

