Good Morning!

My name is Lindsey, and I am a morning person. At least, I am when I have enough sleep.

Panoramic 2

There’s something beautiful about the morning. The day stretches out in front of me full of opportunity for adventure and learning, waiting to be filled. Although it makes it hard to wake up sometimes, I love the hour before sunrise, when the world is still sleeping and I’m not in a hurry to go anywhere or do anything. Everything is quiet and dark and the day is new, untainted by events or words. This time speaks to my soul. It’s restful, giving me a change to focus on what is important without the distractions of life. During these times, I can imagine just a little what it was like when Jesus got up early to pray (Mark 1:35) and the importance of that quiet time settles on me, making me want to stay in that space, prolonging it. Whether I’m at home or in my car on my way somewhere, this morning stillness calls my soul to pray, to seek God’s will for my life and for the day ahead.

Leave a Reply

