The One Never Posted

There are many draft posts sitting around on my computer and Dropbox files. Ideas that require research or that would better apply to a future event. But today’s prompt brought one particular post to mind.

It’s not incomplete or waiting for a specific time. It’s finished and ready to be posted and it has been for over a year. It’s me that isn’t ready.

This post was inspired by the Weekly Writing Challenge from September 3, 2012. We were asked to write about our most meaningful possession. It took me a little while to figure out what it was and once I did, the post just came out. I’m pretty sure it’s the longest post I’ve ever written at nearly 1,000 words and every time I read it, I’m proud of how the words capture the events surrounding this item. It’s probably my favorite post.

But I’m not ready to share it with the world. This item and the events that made it significant are hugely personal to me and my family and, while many people already know about the larger event, I can’t bring myself to share this particular story.

I hope I will some day. Reading through the post made me realize that 2014 will be twenty years from the date of this event; maybe I’ll post it then. It was almost possible to imaging hitting the “Publish” button today so there’s hope for me yet.

Leave a Reply

