Book Review – Kisses from Katie

Kisses from Katie was the first book I listened to as I started my job as a shelver. What an intense way to start!

This book – essentially a biography – tells the story of Katie Davis, a high schooler from Tennessee who goes to Uganda on a missions trip and feels God calling her there. She serves as a teacher; starts Amazima, a non-profit to pay for students to go to school; feeds children; adopts them; loves them; and feels the intense call to live out her life as a mother to many little girls, showing them God’s love. All before the age of 21.

The book is based on many of Katie’s personal diary entries, giving it an intensely personal feeling. God’s call on her life and her reactions come through in such an emotional way, I was fighting tears standing in the stacks while listening. Her willingness to give up everything familiar, every comfort, to do God’s will and to love his children is incredible. You can feel his love and provision, the intense love and desire Katie has for her Lord. It’s moving and it’s challenging. So much of what she says may not have been meant this way, but it is a challenge to my overly comfortable way of life. It’s something that has stuck with me and months later, I’m still mulling over the truths exemplified in Katie’s life.

Hearing these stories told vocally may have made a difference in my emotional response; I don’t know if I would have reacted the same way to reading them, but something tells me I would have. It feels somewhat wrong to call this a book review because Kisses from Katie seems like so much more than a book to me. It taught me so many things, softened my heart to God’s will for my life, more than nearly anything else I’ve read.

What a powerful testament of how our lives can reach others – around us and far away from us – when we truly submit to his will.

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Kisses from Katie

  1. I’ve been meaning to read Kiss from Katie. I first heard about the book from a little girl who was selling drawings to raise money for Katie. My mom has the book and if I remember, I’m going to bring it with my on our trip this weekend.

Leave a Reply

