Happy Thanksgiving!

Today I’ve been thinking a lot about the stages we go through in life and how things change. For some of us, that means family growing larger, smaller, or growing apart. Or perhaps it’s the same as always and it’s you who have changed.

Reflecting on the familiar changes in my life today has reminded me that we can choose how we view situations. We can look at them negatively or positively. I can’t lie and say that I consistently view things positive. I don’t. I tend to take the negative view. So today, I’m going to be thankful for the fact that, while I am celebrating alone, I am not far from my family. In fact, they are texting me on the phone that is inches from my hand as I type this. And the alone time isn’t unwanted. Life has been crazy for the last few months and I’m savoring the quiet, the music I’m playing, the wine in my glass, the laundry that’s getting washed, and the pumpkin pie baking in the oven and filling the house with its spicy aroma. I’m thankful that I have a job to have a holiday from, when so many either don’t have jobs or are working today anyway.

And I pray for each of you. That wherever you are, whatever your situation, that you would find joy today. That some little event or blessing would touch you exactly where you need it. That God would speak to you today.

Happy Thanksgiving to each of you. May the next year be a blessed one!

Leave a Reply

