What I’ve Learned from NaBloPoMo

This month seems to have flown by. It doesn’t seem like 30 days ago I was committing to the goal of blogging every day in November. Did I miss a week somewhere?

Although I said I was glad it was ending because I’m having a hard time coming up with ideas for posts, I will miss this. I’m hoping to keep posting regularly, just not every day!

I’ve learned a few things along the way, some of which I shared in this post. The 21 days since then have only emphasized these lessons. Posting every day is hard, and an editorial calendar would help. I still haven’t gotten around to creating one but I would like to. It calls to the organized freak inside of me. Maybe this is something I can do in the last few days of my holiday so I’ll have some kind of schedule for December.

Sometimes, you just need to type. You just need to do it. You can’t be paralyzed by the fear of producing something of a lesser quality. This is something I have struggled with as a perfectionist. I want the post to be of the highest quality but without planning ahead, this isn’t possible. So balancing my busy life and this goal has been a challenge and I’ve had to learn to let go the expectation of perfection. At least when it comes to the blog!

This relates to all of the aforementioned lessons: planning ahead increases the quality of posts. Not planning doesn’t!

It’s hard to sit down and type up several posts in advance. And it takes a lot of time! I don’t think I realized just how much of a time commitment this was going to be. Sure, there were days when I typed something out quickly. Sometimes the ideas for posts came easily, the words just flowing out onto the page. But more frequently they didn’t and I had to search for something to talk about. And when I did have time, it took several hours to have two or three posts to schedule for future days. Even when I did have ideas, the timing didn’t always work out right. The posts I typed in advance may not have made sense to post on the days I needed to have something scheduled.

The things I learned can be boiled down into just a few things: planning, time, and flexibility. All of these things are important when trying to post daily.

National Blog Posting Month has been a great experience for me, something I might try again in the future. Thank you for sticking with me through this adventure!

Leave a Reply

