Exam Week

One of the steps on my journey to California was to earn my California PHR designation. California employment law is very different from the rest of the country, which is why the state has its own supplemental certification (to earn the PHR-CA, you must already have the PHR certification). When I started putting together a plan to relocate, it quickly became apparent that having the certification would help me be a more marketable job candidate especially because I haven’t supported any California employees in the last four years.

So this summer I ordered my preparation materials and scheduled my exam. When everything arrived, December seemed like such a long time away. But as always, time moves swiftly and the date snuck up on me.

This week, while I have been focused on studying, the absolute love and support that has poured out has been overwhelming. God’s love has been apparent through the various people who have reached out to encourage me when I was stressed and worried that I wouldn’t be able to remember all the information. Thank you to each and every one of you for your thoughts, prayers, and encouraging messages.

I sat for the PHR-CA exam today and although the results are preliminary…. I PASSED!

Full results will arrive in 2-4 weeks detailing how I did on each of the four areas of the exam. While I’m ecstatic to have passed, I know this is just the first step. I’ll be taking my detailed results and going back over the areas where I’m weak and eventually I’ll begin applying for jobs.

Again, thank you to everyone who prayed and supported me through this process. You all are amazing!

Leave a Reply

