Book Review – Jesus + Nothing = Everything

Jesus + Nothing = Everything by Tullian Tchividjian is the latest book my mentor and I have been studying together. Don’t ask me how to say his name… I’m giving thanks right now that this is written and not spoken!

The title does a great job of summing up the entire point of the book: Jesus is everything. There is nothing we can add to what he has done and without him we have nothing.

Each chapter is dedicated to looking more deeply at a portion of this formula, backward and forward, diving into the concept of grace and what it means for us as Christians.

Not only does he offer scriptural support, but Tullian draws on several other Christian authors throughout the book and offers a list of twenty-six books about the gospel and grace to continue learning.

Maybe it was just my experience, but this book was hugely eye opening to what exactly grace means. Nowhere in my past was grace explained so clearly. Every chapter held a new punch, a reminder that it really isn’t about me. I tend to struggle with perfectionism, the need to dot every I and cross every T, to do things right. The comparison of law vs. grace and constant reminders that Christ did it all and I don’t have to were (and are!) freeing.

We read this book a chapter at a time, meeting every two weeks, so it has been hard to synthesize the entire book as a whole. I wouldn’t do anything differently because this book has made an impact in my life, but I do want to go back and read the entire book in its entirety. Also, a highlighter and pen was very helpful while reading!

I’m absolutely not an expert and this is only my opinion, but I think this could be a good book for people who are struggling with legalism or the concept of grace. While points are supported by scripture, it’s also not deeply theological, making it easy to understand for people who aren’t familiar with deep theological concepts.

Leave a Reply

