Book Review – The Selection

Since I now have the opportunity to read a lot more while working at the library, it’s becoming harder to find books that interest me. Listening to books is different from reading them. When listening you can’t go back to repeat things or make notes in margins, all of which I like to do when reading nonfiction. This limits my selection but it’s also forced me to select books that I wouldn’t have heard of or tried.

One of those books is The Selection by Kiera Cass. It’s a book meant for teen readers and it’s a cross between The Bachelor and The Hunger Games. In The Selection, girls across the kingdom may apply to be part of the selection, a televised competition to become the prince’s wife. Selection comes with class and financial benefits for the families of those chosen. The story follows America, who was born into class Five, which is made up of artists. Food and money are scare for her family of musicians but not as bad as it is for Aspen, the boy she loves. When Aspen spurns her advances on the basis of her well-being, she applies to be part of the selection and is chosen. Her motivation is to get over Aspen and to benefit her family which allows her to be genuine with Prince Maxon. The Prince finds her honesty refreshing and keeps her at the palace in spite of her ignorance of politics and etiquette.

The Selection is the first of a trilogy; the second book, The Elite, continues the story. The One, the final book in the trilogy, is scheduled to be released this week. For people like me who enjoy continuing our favorite stories through fan fiction, there are several add-on novellas to enjoy.

There were moments in this story where I was annoyed by the drama. Reading books geared toward teenagers bears this danger and I realize that. In general, I enjoyed the story and the situations the characters find themselves facing. It’s an easy read. For someone who tends to get overly involved in fictional characters and feels their pain, this story was ideal. I’m looking forward to the release of The One, although I will probably have to go back and re-read the first two. Good thing I have a vacation coming up!

These comments are my opinion only.

Leave a Reply

