Test of Time

There is nothing like the naming of something to test my creativity.

Today’s assignment is to consider my blog title and tagline. My first reaction to this assignment was a swift oh heck no.

Do you know how much time and how many iterations it took to arrive where I am? This blog has been in existence for years and I still remember how much time and effort it took for me to come up with a name and tagline that I liked. And you know what? I still second guess it occasionally.

This assignment is permission to second guess it.

On reflection, I really do like the name and tagline I have worked so hard to create. I like things with layers of meaning, which is what makes it so difficult for me to arrive at a name in the first place.

As my About page says, vivace con brio is Italian, typically used as a tempo guideline for musicians. As a musician, that appeals to me. It is a pace that is lively and spirited, which is how I would like to live my life. It’s not flashy or obvious; it requires thought and research to understand. Neither am I a flashy person. I like things to be understated and elegant. Plus the name is not limited to one point in time in my life to be outgrown when that phase passes. Life is always moving forward.

Perhaps the tagline could be improved, but I’m not inclined to change it. Life goes by at a fast pace and this blog is catching moments of them. I do not write about everything, but about select moments: humorous anecdotes, lessons learned, books read. They are moments in time, pieces of a life, but not all of it.

Leave a Reply

